Bri's worldelectronics, programming and more

deutsch

Control theory: control loop optimization with iteration

For a stable control loop the control parameters have to be set that no oscillations will occur. There are several methods to estimate the parameters for a stable control loop from oscillation period or control path step response.

With support of computer it is possible to use iterative methods to adapt the step response of the control loop to the desired curve. For this purpose a weighting function that depends on the control parameters is used to measure the deviation from the ideal curve. An iterative search algorithm is used to find the minimum of this weighting function. The greatest difficulty is that the weighting function does not have only one minimum but many local minima.

As iteration methods only those are applicable that do not use derivatives because the weighting function is not derivable in generally. I use the local variation and differential evolution as iteration methods for this application.

Differential evolution

The differential evolution is a variant of the genetic algorithms, which is optimized especially for functions with real parameters. It is an intelligent random-based search method.

AdvantagesDisadvantages
  • search covers the whole parameter space
  • may find the global minimum
  • does not find only a local minimum
  • high calculation effort
  • does not find the exact minimum because it is random-based

Local variation

This iterative search method alters the function parameters to find step by step better values for the minimum.

AdvantagesDisadvantages
  • less calculation effort
  • finds the local minimum exactly
  • finds only local minima
  • needs a start value

Control loop

First you have to define the control loop. This is done by selecting the control element types in the table below. The control elements time and gain parameters can be changed in the columns next to the control element type. The Start button is used to draw the control loop step response.

ControlLoop

Control path parameters

Number Control element Parameter K Parameter T Parameter D Transfer function
1
2
3
4

Step response simulation parameters

The step response is used to optimize the control loop controller. The weighting function measures how good the step response fits the desired ideal curve.

Step height
Step time
Simulation end time

PID controller parameters

This PID controller parameters are used as start values for the local variation method. The differential evolution does not need start values. Therefore it is a good idea to use the differential evolution first to estimate the parameters. The local variation can be used afterwards to improve the result.

Controller Parameter Kp Parameter Ki Parameter Kd Limit u min Limit u max Transfer function
PID $$K_p + \frac{K_i}{s} +K_d \cdot s$$

Parameters for the PID controller optimization

The weighting function used for optimization consists of three parts. The first part is the deviation of the output y(t) from the control loop input w(t) as the sum of the error squares. The weighting for this part is 1. The other parts are the output overshot and the output value of the controller.

Maximum number iteration steps
Maximum overshot in percent
Weighting controller output
Weighting overshot



Bri's world© Torsten Brischalle. Design based upon BlueWebTemplates.com

Bri's worldelectronics, programming and more

english

Regelungstechnik: PID Regler einstellen mittels Iteration

Für einen stabilen Regelkreis müssen die Reglerparameter so eingestellt werden, dass keine Schwingungen auftreten. Es gibt verschiedene Methoden, um die Parameter aus der Sprungantwort oder der Oszillation des Regelkreises zu schätzen.

Mit dem Computer ist es allerdings auch möglich, die Sprungantwort des Regelkreises mittels iterativer Verfahren an die gewünschte Kurvenform anzupassen. Dazu wird eine Bewertungsfunktion aufgestellt, die ein Maß für die Abweichung von der Idealkurve ist und die von den Reglerparametern abhängt. Von dieser Bewertungsfunktion wird iterativ das Minimum gesucht. Die Schwierigkeit ist dabei, dass die Bewertungsfunktion im allgemeinen nicht nur ein Minimum hat, sondern viele lokale Minima.

Als Iterationsverfahren kommen solche in Frage die keine erste Ableitung benötigen, da die Bewertungsfunktion im allgemeinen nicht differenzierbar ist. Ich verwende hier die Methode der lokalen Variation und die differentielle Evolution.

Differentielle Evolution

Die differentielle Evolution ist eine Variante der genetischen Algorithmen, die speziell für Funktionen mit reellen Parametern optimiert ist. Sie ist damit eine intelligente zufallsbasierte Suche.

VorteileNachteile
  • sucht den gesamten Parameterraum ab
  • kann das globale Minimum finden
  • die Suche beschränkt sich nicht nur auf ein lokales Minimum
  • hoher Rechenaufwand
  • findet, da zufallsbasiert, nicht exakt das Minimum

Lokale Variation

Bei der Methode der lokalen Variation werden die Parameter variiert, um einen besseren Wert für das Minimum zu erhalten.

VorteileNachteile
  • weniger Rechenaufwand
  • findet exakt das lokale Minimum
  • findet nur lokale Minimas
  • benötigt einen Startwert

Regelkreis

Zuerst muss der Regelkreis in der Tabelle definiert werden. Dazu wird in der Zeile der Typ des Übertragungsglieds ausgewählt. Die Parameter können in den Spalten dahinter eingestellt werden. Mit dem Button Start wird die Sprungantwort des Regelkreises gezeichnet.

ControlLoop

Parameter der Regelstrecke

Nummer Übertragungsglied Parameter K Parameter T Parameter D Übertragungsfunktion
1
2
3
4

Parameter der Simulation der Sprungantwort

Die Sprungantwort wird für die Optimierung des Reglers verwendet. Die Bewertungsfunktion gibt an, wie gut die Sprungantwort mit der Vorgabe übereinstimmt.

Sprunghöhe
Sprungzeit
Endzeit der Simulation

Parameter des PID Reglers

Die Parameter des PID-Reglers werden für die Methode der lokalen Variation als Startwerte verwendet. Die differentielle Evolution benötigt keine Startwerte. Es ist sinnvoll, zuerst mit der differentiellen Evolution die Werte berechnen zu lassen und das Ergebnis danach mit der lokalen Variation zu verbessern.

Regler Parameter Kp Parameter Ki Parameter Kd Begrenzung u min Begrenzung u max Übertragungsfunktion
PID $$K_p + \frac{K_i}{s} +K_d \cdot s$$

Parameter für die Optimierung des PID Reglers

Die Bewertungsfunktion für die Optimierung des Reglers setzt sich aus drei Komponenten zusammen. Die erste Komponente ist die Abweichung des Ausgangs y(t) von der Führungsgröße w(t) als Summe der Fehlerquadrate. Die Wichtung ist eins. Die beiden anderen Komponenten sind das Überschwingen und die Ausgabe des Reglers, also der Wert der Stellgröße.

Maximale Anzahl Iterationsschritte
Maximales Überschwingen in Prozent
Wichtung Output Regler
Wichtung Überschwingen



Bri's world© Torsten Brischalle. Design based upon BlueWebTemplates.com